You are here

Frequently Asked Questions

Filter by Category
  • Records
  • Treatment
  • Complaints
  • Find A Dentist
  • Public
  • Find A Dentist
  • Postings
  • Member Access
  • Help
  • Advertising Campaign
  • Dental Benefits/Insurance
  • Ethics
  • Financial
  • Membership
  • VDA Endorsements
  • Member
  • Location/Travel
  • Registration
  • CE/Events
  • Exhibits
  • Virginia Meeting
  • Complaint
  • Contracts
  • Education
  • HR/Employment
  • Loan Repayment
  • Regulations
  • Professional Topics

Public

Do you have a list of dentists that accept Medicaid?

FAQ# 1186:

The VDA features a list of VDA members who accept Medicaid. 

Does the VDA give out referrals?

FAQ# 1182:

We do not give out referrals of ANY kind – doctors, lawyers, etc…. for liability reasons and because we are a voluntary organization. The Virginia Dental Association provides a “Find a Dentist” search function on the Public side of our website. You can search by name, specialty, address, city, state or zip. Our list does not include all dentists in Virginia – only those who are members of the VDA. We do not recommend one VDA dentist over any other.

How can I file a complaint?

FAQ# 1184:

If the dentist is a VDA Member, you can file a complaint using our Patient Mediation Program.  The Virginia Board of Dentistry also handles complaints.

How do I get a copy of my dental record?

FAQ# 1142:

Requests for copies of records should be submitted to the dentist in writing, dated and signed.  The request should describe the records wanted.  The request can be mailed, faxed or hand delivered to the dentist/office.  The dentist is required to respond within 15 days to do one of the following:

1.         Provide copies of the records.

2.         Inform the requester if the information does not exist or cannot be found.

3.         Inform the requester of the provider who now maintains the records.

4.         Deny the records for specific reasons set out in Section F of the statutes.

I can't afford regular dental care. Are there some resources available to me?

FAQ# 16:

Yes there are resources. Check out these Low Cost Dental Services.

I recently moved and need a new dentist. How can I find one?

FAQ# 15:

Look no further. Finding a great dentist is easy with our Find-a-Dentist Tool. Click here to search for a dentist in your area.

Is tooth whitening (bleaching) safe?

FAQ# 1122:

Yes.  Tooth whitening has been performed for 25 years with no adverse effects.  The only side effect is temporary sensitivity to cold, which will go away after treatment.

What can the provider charge for copies of records?

FAQ# 1143:

If an individual requests a copy of his health record from a health care entity, the health care entity may impose a reasonable cost-based fee, which shall include only the cost of supplies for and labor of copying the requested information, postage when the individual requests that such information be mailed, and preparation of an explanation or summary of such information as agreed to by the individual. For the purposes of this section, "individual" includes a person with authority to act on behalf of the individual who is the subject of the health record in making decisions related to his health care.

Where can I find background information on a dentist?

FAQ# 1183:

We can only tell you if a dentist is a member of the Virginia Dental Association. Our Find a Dentist feature on this website can help you determine if a particular dentist is a member. Enter the name of the dentist and click find. If your search is successful, the dentist is a VDA member. An unsuccessful search means only that person is not a VDA member; it does not mean the dentist does not have a license to practice dentistry. The licensing and regulatory authority for dentistry in this state is the Virginia Board of Dentistry.  The Board features a license lookup on their website.  

Click HERE to use our Find A Dentist Search

Click HERE to go to the Virginia Board of Dentistry License Lookup.

Who owns the dental record - the dentist or the patient?

FAQ# 1141:

The dentist (provider) owns the records.

Why do I need Fluoride?

FAQ# 1123:

Exposure to acids in the diet, as well as those produced by plaque bacteria weaken tooth enamel.  Soft tooth enamel can lead to tooth decay, tooth loss, and without treatment this decay can lead to severe, painful infections. Fluoride in topical forms such as toothpaste, mouth rinses, and professional products replace the lost minerals and strengthen the tooth, which enables you to eat, smile, and talk.

As enamel is first developing, fluoride is also absorbed from drinking water and hardens the tooth surface. Bottled water does not contain fluoride unless specifically noted on the label. A pediatrician or dentist may prescribe fluoride for children who do not receive fluoride from their water supply.  This should be carefully monitored to ensure appropriate dosage.

Help

How do I use the Find A Dentist Tool?

FAQ# 1221:

Click the link below to view a step by step video on how to use the VDA's Find A Dentist Tool.

Duration: 5 mins. 30 sec.

I want to post a job/classified/resume but am not a VDA member. How can I do this?

FAQ# 660:

You will need to create a NON-member account in order to post an ad.  Click HERE to create your account.  Once you have done this and are logged in, you will see options in the User Menu located on the right side of the site.  Simply click the ad type you would like to add and follow the directions.  Job/Classified postings can be purchased at a rate of $30 per month, in a maximum of 3 months.  Resume postings are free to members and non-members.

I want to post a Speaker Directory Listing. How do I do this?

FAQ# 1047:

You will need to login to the VDA website in order to post a speaker directory listing.  If you do NOT have a user account simply CLICK HERE to set one up.  Remember all VDA Members already have accounts on our site.  If you are a VDA member and don't know your login informaiton, CLICK HERE to have a new login link emailed to you.  

Once you have logged in to the VDA website, you will see a user menu on the right-hand side of your screen.  Click "Create A Speaker Listing" to begin.  

Past VDA Event Speakers: If you HAVE presented at a VDA event within the past 2 years you will received a speaker listing for FREE. The posting will expire after 2 YEARS.

NON Past VDA Event Speakers: If you have NOT presented at a VDA event within the past 2 years the cost of your listing will be $300 per year.

SPEAKER LISTINGS WILL NOT POST WHEN YOU CLICK SUBMIT. Once you have submitted your speaker listing, a VDA staff person will review/approve it within 2-3 business days. You will receive a confirmation email from our staff when the posting is available.

Contact Carter Lyons at lyons@vadental.org if you have any additional questions.

I'm a VDA member, how do I login to the website?

FAQ# 658:

All VDA members (who have an email address on file with us) received an email on May 6, 2013 with a link to set up their user account.  Please check your junk mail if you did not recieve this email.  You may also request a reset of your password by clicking HERE and entering your email address.  An email will be sent to you with a link to reset your password.  If the site does not recognize your email address, please contact Shannon Jacobs at the VDA central office for further assitance.  jacobs@vadental.org

If you are a VDA member please do not click the create an account link.  This is only for Non-members and the general public and has very limited access.

Virginia Meeting

How do I make changes to my registration?

FAQ# 1129:

Also new in 2013, any meeting attendee may make changes to their registration any time prior to the pre-registration deadline.  Simply go to the registration website, log in using the username and password you created when you registered and make any changes you would like.  Once onsite, changes may still be made; just visit the registration desk and the staff will be able to assist you.

I don’t know my username and password to register.

FAQ# 1127:

This is NOT the same username and password for the VDA website.  To enter the registration website, attendees should use the username and password created when completing their initial registration.  If an attendee has forgotten their username or password, click “Forgot my password” to have it reset or call Custom Registration (9am-6pm) directly for assistance.  Their phone number is 1-877-205-1943.

I have already registered. When will I receive my meeting packet?

FAQ# 1131:

Meeting packets will not be sent until after pre-registration closes, which allows attendees to make changes to their registration at any time during pre-registration.  Meeting packets should arrive in the mail about 1 week prior to the meeting.

I would like to have dinner at one of The Homestead Restaurants or book activities at The Homestead.

FAQ# 1135:

Please call The Homestead directly at 1-800-838-1766, option 4. We strongly recommend that you make meal and activity reservations well in advance of your arrival as these spaces fill quickly. Please see page 34-35 of your registration brochure for more details, including the Virginia Meeting and The Homestead Resort attire.

Why do I have to register each individual meeting attendee separately?

FAQ# 1128:

Starting in 2013, the VDA is able to track CE credits for each meeting attendee.  It is important that we have an individual record for each attendee in order to have accurate records.  The record of your CE from the meeting will be sent to you within 10 business days after the meeting.
 

Can exhibitors attend CE courses or events?

FAQ# 1196:

Exhibitors can not attend CE courses. However, they are welcome to sign up for any of our social events. In your registration packet, social event information is included. You can register for these events at the same time as you are registering your representatives for your booths. You may also go back into the registration system and add or change your registration at any time. We ask that you do this prior to July 1.

Can you send me a Virginia Meeting registration brochure?

FAQ# 1187:

Yes, please contact Carter Lyons at lyons@vadental.org or 804-523-2193.  You can also download the brochure from our website (see below).

Do I have to be a VDA Member to attend the Virginia Meeting?

FAQ# 1125:

No – we welcome member dentists, non-member dentists, and all members of the dental office team.

Do I have to pay for meeting registration if I only plan to attend one event (such as a dinner, social function, etc.)?

FAQ# 1136:

Yes – it is VDA policy that all attendees must register for the meeting itself in order to participate in any meeting events or CE courses.

Does VDA offer Continuing Education (CE)?

FAQ# 1185:

Yes, the VDA offers many CE opportunites.  All CE courses are listed on our events calendar.  See links below.

How can I register my company reps that will be working my booth?

FAQ# 1195:

You should have received a packet by mail as well as by email with all of your information. If you have not received this or need another copy, please contact Carter Lyons at lyons@vadental.org or 804-523-2193 and she’ll send you another one.

How do I cancel my Virginia Meeting Registration?

FAQ# 1191:

All refunds need to be submitted in writing prior to the August 30 deadline. All refunds are subject to a 20% per registration fee that will be processed within 15 business days to the primary registrant. Refunds will be processed back via the original method of payment within 10 days of receipt of request. Any conference materials received (including tickets) must accompany request for refund.


Send refund requests to:

Carter Lyons

VDA

3460 Mayland Ct, Ste 110

Henrico, VA 23233

How do I get the registration form?

FAQ# 1189:

We can fax/email one to you or you can download one from our website: http://www.vadental.org/pro/events/virginia-meeting/registration .

Contact Carter Lyons at lyons@vadental.org or 804-523-2193.

How do I register for the Virginia Meeting?

FAQ# 1188:

Online: http://www.vadental.org/pro/events/virginia-meeting/registration
Fax: 1-817-277-7616
Phone: 1-877-205-1943
Mail: The Virginia Meeting c/o Custom Registration, 2020 E. Randol Mill Road, Suite 307, Arlington, TX 76011

Since I am registering for all the courses and events I am attending, should I expect to receive tickets for everything in the mail?

FAQ# 1133:

No.  Another advantage to our new registration system is the ability to eliminate tickets for CE courses.  All CE attendance will be tracked electronically through a barcode on attendee badges.  However, all social events that required an extra fee WILL have a ticket which will be sent to you in your meeting packet.

What are the exhibit hall hours?

FAQ# 1194:

Thursday, September 19, 2013
5:00—6:30pm (The opening reception will take place in the exhibit hall during this time; exhibitors are required to be present at their booths.)


Friday, September 20, 2013
8:00am—5:00pm Coffee and snacks will be available in the hall throughout the day—lunches will be picked up in the exhibit hall on Friday.


Saturday, September 21, 2013
8:00am-noon Coffee and morning snacks will be available while the hall is open.

What are the onsite registration hours?

FAQ# 1192:

Wednesday, September 18—10:00am-5:00pm
Thursday, September 19—7:00am-5:00pm
Friday, September 20—7:00am-5:00pm
Saturday, September 21—7:00am-2:00pm

What if my meeting packet does not arrive on time?

FAQ# 1132:

We’ll do everything we can to make sure that packets arrive safely and on time, but in the event that your packet does not arrive, please visit the registration desk at The Virginia Meeting and VDA staff will make sure that you have everything you need.

What is the cut off date for pre-registration?

FAQ# 1190:

August 30, 2013—however registration WILL reopen onsite, starting September 18. At this time, changes or additions may be made to your registration.

When is exhibitor set-up/move in and move out?

FAQ# 1193:

Move In:

Thursday, September 19, 2013
6:00am—2:00pm
All booths MUST be completed by no later than 2:00pm as there will be a reception in the exhibit hall


Move Out:

Saturday, September 21
12:30-3:30pm

When/Where is the Virginia Meeting?

FAQ# 1124:

September 18-22, 2013

The Homestead Resort

7696 Sam Snead Highway

Hot Springs, VA 24445

Who does the First Time Attendee Dentist registration category apply to?

FAQ# 1126:

Any dentist (member or non-member) who has never previously attended a Virginia Meeting.

Why did the hotel room block fill up so fast?

FAQ# 1134:

There are a few reasons for this—but the main one is that VDA members are very excited about this new venue and the opportunities that The Homestead has to offer. Additionally, Hot Springs is not an area where attendees can drive back and forth for the day, which has increased our number of reserved rooms. We are doing everything that we can to make the entire Virginia Meeting experience pleasant for each one of our attendees and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. Thank you very much for your understanding.

Why do I need to register for any course I would like to attend?

FAQ# 1130:

Feedback from VDA members indicated a wide interest in the VDA tracking and maintaining a record of CE credits.  In order for us to have an accurate record of CE attendance, each attendee needs to register and have their badge scanned to receive credit.

Professional Topics

Are dental offices required to supply licensing information, etc. to a company collecting the information for insurance company?

FAQ# 1137:

Providers only need to send that information when it is the insurance company itself requesting it.

Are general dentists in Virginia allowed to do Botox and dermal fillers?

FAQ# 1138:

No, only oral surgeons with a cosmetic license can do these procedures.

Can continuing education credit hours be carried over to the next year?

FAQ# 1147:

Yes, credit hours in excess of the 15 required may be credited to the next year for a total of not more than 15 hours.

Does VDA offer Continuing Education (CE)?

FAQ# 1185:

Yes, the VDA offers many CE opportunites.  All CE courses are listed on our events calendar.  See links below.

How do I get a copy of my dental record?

FAQ# 1142:

Requests for copies of records should be submitted to the dentist in writing, dated and signed.  The request should describe the records wanted.  The request can be mailed, faxed or hand delivered to the dentist/office.  The dentist is required to respond within 15 days to do one of the following:

1.         Provide copies of the records.

2.         Inform the requester if the information does not exist or cannot be found.

3.         Inform the requester of the provider who now maintains the records.

4.         Deny the records for specific reasons set out in Section F of the statutes.

How do I qualify as a Certified Dental Assistant (CDA)?

FAQ# 1150:

The Dental Assisting National Board (DANB) is the certifying body for dental assistants. The following materials are available online to assist you in understanding the paths to certification and to assist you in preparing for certification:

·       How to earn your Dental Assistant Certification
http://www.dalefoundation.org/For-Dental-Assistants/How-To-Earn-Your-Dental-Assistant-Certification

·       DANB CDA exam reference materials
http://www.danb.org/exams/CDAexamreferences.asp

·       DANB CDA Exam Blueprint
http://www.danb.org/PDFs/CDAExamBlueprint.pdf

How is a radiation certificate obtained?

FAQ# 1148:

By (1) Satisfactorily completing a course or examination recognized by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association (CODA); (2) becoming certified by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists; or (3) satisfactorily completing a radiation course and passing an examination given by the Dental Assisting National Board (DANB).

·      For a list of CODA accredited programs in Virginia go to the American Dental Association website www.ada.org/5500.aspx then contact the programs to see if they offer a course for radiation certification.

·      For a list of Radiography Programs in Virginia go to the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists website www.arrt.org/Educaiton/Educational-Programs then contact the programs for more information.

·      For information about the DANB course and examination go to:

o   DANB Radiation Health and Safety (RHS) Review at www.dalefoundation.org/Courses-And-Study-Aids/Product-Catalog-Search/DANB-RHS-Review

o   DANB’s 2012 Radiation Health and Safety (RHS) Exam Blueprint at www.danb.org/PDFs/2012RHSBlueprint.pdf

o   DANB Radiation Health Safety (RHS) component exam  application at www.danb.org/PDFs/RHSApplication.pdf

How long should dental records be kept?

FAQ# 1144:

The Board of Dentistry requires that a dentist maintain patient records for not less than SIX years from the most recent date of service for purposes of review by the Board.

 

However, the ADA advises that records should be kept for seven years.

How many continuing education credit hours can be on-line?

FAQ# 1146:

There is no restriction on the number of credit hours that may be obtained on line.

How many credit hours of continuing education are required each year?

FAQ# 1145:

A dentist or dental hygienist is required to complete a minimum of 15 credit hours of approved continuing education for each annual license renewal.

How often should autoclave spore testing be done?

FAQ# 2114:

The CDC recommends that spore testing be done at least weekly using BIs.  (Be sure that your BI has a current shelf date or you
could get inaccurate results.)   

I am considering participating with a dental benefit company (i.e. insurance company) and would like to have the contract reviewed prior to signing. How can I go about having this contract reviewed?

FAQ# 1156:

The ADA provides a Contract Analysis Service to ADA members free of charge through their state dental society.  This service offers analysis of third-party contracts and informs members in clear language about the provisions of the contracts so they can make informed decisions about the implications of participation.  If you would like to take advantage of this service, please contact Laura Givens at the VDA by calling 804-523-2185 or emailing givens@vadental.org. 

 

*Please note that the ADA Contract Analysis Service is not intended, nor should it be regarded, as legal advice.  You are strongly urged to consult with your personal attorney before signing any contract.

I am wondering if there are any legal or ethical concerns to doing a Groupon/Living Social type of promotion – where can I go to find information on this?

FAQ# 1177:

There are some ethical concerns that should be considered in regards to these types of promotions.  Please review the current ADA Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct (http://www.ada.org/194.aspx) for more information. 

I have a question about an ethical dilemma in my practice and I would like to talk with someone about the situation, who should I call?

FAQ# 1178:

You can call the ADA’s Ethics Hotline (800-621-8099, ask for the ethics hotline) to discuss your concern.  For more information on this member resource, please visit: http://www.ada.org/8180.aspx.

I know that the VDA no longer has a Direct Reimbursement Committee but I have a patient who would like to consider the plan for the business that they own/work for. Is there anywhere I can direct them to get more information?

FAQ# 1180:

Yes, the VDA still supports the Direct Reimbursement concept and Benefits Administration, Inc. is still available to provide pricing quotes and administrative services for the plans.  Interested parties should contact Mr. C.P. Coyner with Benefits Administration, Inc. at 804-379-2218.

Is there a program for dental school loan repayment if I decide to practice in a rural area?

FAQ# 1176:

Yes, through the Virginia Department of Health there is a loan repayment program.  Complete program details can be found here: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/OMHHE/primarycare/incentives/loanrepayment/dental_lrp.htm.

What are the requirements to register as a dental assistant II?

FAQ# 1149:

A complete list of requirements is available in the Instructions for Dental Assistant II Applicants which is located on our Forms and Applications page. To review the laws and regulations governing registration, refer to §54.1-2729.01 of the Code of Virginia and to Part III. Entry Requirements beginning at 18VAC60-20-60 of the Regulations Governing Dental Practice which are located on our website under Laws and Regulations.

What can the provider charge for copies of records?

FAQ# 1143:

If an individual requests a copy of his health record from a health care entity, the health care entity may impose a reasonable cost-based fee, which shall include only the cost of supplies for and labor of copying the requested information, postage when the individual requests that such information be mailed, and preparation of an explanation or summary of such information as agreed to by the individual. For the purposes of this section, "individual" includes a person with authority to act on behalf of the individual who is the subject of the health record in making decisions related to his health care.

What kind of assistance is available for a dentist who is a provider with a dental benefit plan (i.e. insurance company) and has an issue with the company (i.e. complaints with assignment of benefits, non-covered services, denial of claim, explanation of

FAQ# 1157:

The VDA offers assistance with these complaints.  Please contact the VDA at 804-523-2185 to receive a Complaint Resolution Form.  These are reviewed by the VDA Dental Benefits committee.  You can file a complaint with the Virginia Bureau of Insurance.  For information on the claim process, you can contact the following email address at bureauofinsurance@scc.state.va.us or call their Ombudsmen and Consumer Service Hotline at 1-877-310-6560.

When is license renewal due?

FAQ# 1140:

Dental licenses are renewed with the Virginia Board of Dentistry and must be renewed by March 31st.  This can be done on the VA Board of Dentistry website or by 1st class mail.

Where can I find information on Virginia regulations pertaining to dentistry, dental hygiene and dental assisting?

FAQ# 1152:

The Virginia Board of Dentistry

o   Website: http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry/

o   Phone Number: (804) 367-4538

*We suggest that all dentists review the Virginia Board of Dentistry Regulations Governing Dental Practice and have on hand in your dental office for reference.  Visiting their website on a regular basis will keep you and your staff abreast on current regulations.  You will find answers to questions involving requirements for health records, licensure, direction and delegation of duties, anesthesia, advertising, education, oral & maxillofacial surgery, mobile dental clinics and other items.  All of these are relating to dentists, dental hygienists, dental assistant IIs and dental assistants.

Where can I find resources for OSHA training in the dental office?

FAQ# 1154:

The ADA offers an OSHA Compliance Kit, as well as other related kits that can be ordered online at http://catalog.ada.org/ProductCatalog/productcategory.aspx?ID=11 or by calling  1-800-947-4746.

Where can I obtain a list of posters required by the Department of Labor?

FAQ# 1153:

The Virginia Department of Labor & Industry website lists these requirements: http://www.doli.virginia.gov/publications/required_posters.html.  You may also call them with questions at 804-371-2327.

Where do you file a complaint about the Virginia Board of Dentistry?

FAQ# 1139:

Contact Dianne L. Reynolds-Cane at the VA Board of Professionals – 804-367-4400.

Where would I find information on amalgam disposal?

FAQ# 1155:

The ADA published Best Management Practices for Amalgam Waste, which can be obtained as a pdf document online by clicking here.  The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality should be able to answer questions relating to amalgam disposal.  They can be reached at 804-698-4000.  Note that Virginia does not currently mandate amalgam separators. 

Who owns the dental record - the dentist or the patient?

FAQ# 1141:

The dentist (provider) owns the records.